A particularly varied year in which acts as diverse as Michael Nyman, Therapy? and the fondly remembered Take That all made the shortlist. 1994 saw three key acts honoured for the first time: Pulp, Blur and the Prodigy, who were joined by two songwriting greats, Paul Weller and Ian McNabb for their 'Wild Wood' and 'Head Like A Rock' albums respectively. The shortlist was completed by M People for their hugely successful 'Elegant Slumming', and Shara Nelson, singer on Massive Attack's 'Unfinished Sympathy', for her own acclaimed collection, 'What Silence Knows'.