It was third time lucky for PJ Harvey, who won the Prize for the masterful 'Stories From the City, Stories from the Sea', having been shortlisted twice before. Songwriting of a different kind was well represented with Turin Brakes, Tom McRae and Ed Harcourt all being honoured for their debut albums. Dance music started to take on a distinctly new twist, on the shortlist alongside the exuberance and musical invention of Basement Jaxx's 'Rooty', were the electronica and subtle textures found on the breakthrough albums by Goldfrapp and Zero 7. A willingness to experiment and approach music in new ways was also apparent in the shortlisted albums by Radiohead, Susheela Raman and Super Furry Animals.