This year's Judging Panel

Ahead of the 2017 Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ shortlist announced on 27 July, we revealed this year’s judging panel.

Our twelve 2017 judges are: Phil Alexander - Editor-in-Chief, Mojo and Q; Clara Amfo - Broadcaster; Jamie Cullum - Musician and Broadcaster; Ella Eyre - Musician and Songwriter; Harriet Gibsone - Music News Editor, The Guardian/; Lianne La Havas - Musician and Songwriter; Will Hodgkinson - Chief Rock & Pop Critic The Times; MistaJam - DJ & Broadcaster; Marcus Mumford - Musician and Songwriter; Jeff Smith - Head of Music, 6 Music and Radio 2; Jessie Ware - Musician and Songwriter; and Mike Walsh - Head of Music, Radio X. The Chair of the judging panel is the music executive, Tony Wadsworth CBE.

The shortlist of 12 ‘Albums of the Year’ was revealed at a live launch, hosted by BBC Music’s Huw Stephens, on 27 July. The shortlist was also announced live at 11am on Lauren Laverne’s show on BBC Radio 6 Music. You can see the shortlist here.

David Wilkinson, Mercury Prize Chairman said "The judges spend several months listening to over 200 albums entered for this year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize and then meet to decide on the 12 ‘Albums of the Year’. It’s been an exciting year for UK music – so it’s going to be tougher than ever for them choosing the 12 albums.  After last year’s successful event we’re looking forward to an equally diverse and eclectic shortlist being announced on 27 July."

The 2017 Awards Show will take place on Thursday 14 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith. The event will feature live performances by many of the 12 shortlisted artists and the evening will culminate in the announcement of the overall winner of the 2017 Hyundai Mercury Prize for ‘Album of the Year’. You can buy tickets here.

The Prize’s broadcast partner, BBC Music, will be providing live television and radio coverage of the event on BBC Four and BBC Radio 6 Music. BBC Two will also broadcast a preview documentary on the 2017 Prize in early September.

David Pugh, Hyundai Motor UK Marketing Director, said "After an exciting first year of our title partnership with the Hyundai Mercury Prize, we are looking forward to seeing what surprises the 2017 shortlist will produce. Hyundai Motor is very proud to support innovation in British music and we're looking forward to celebrating with all the shortlisted artists at this year's Awards Show."

The Hyundai Mercury Prize recognises and celebrates the ‘Albums of the Year’, establishing a reputation for highlighting the work of both exciting emerging talent and more established bands and artists. The shortlist of 12 ‘Albums of the Year’ is chosen by an independent judging panel and recognises artistic achievement across a range of genres.  Albums by British and Irish artists with a UK release date between 30 July 2016 and 21 July 2017 are eligible for the 2017 Prize.